ESR Pollmeier
Software Patents

Introduction - Examples - Filed Today, Patented Tomorrow? - Statement

This page contains links to pages outside our website www.esr-pollmeier.de/... Our company ESR Pollmeier GmbH and the authors are not responsible for contents outside of our website www.esr-pollmeier.de/..., even if we refer to such contents by means of hyperlinks. Contents outside of the website www.esr-pollmeier.de/... do not necessarily represent the views of ESR Pollmeier GmbH, even if we link to such contents. Documents and quotations on the website www.esr-pollmeier.de/... which do not originate from ESR Pollmeier GmbH do not necessarily represent the views of ESR Pollmeier GmbH. Please send any suggestions, comments and critical remarks about www.esr-pollmeier.de/swpat/... to Stefan Pollmeier.


After detailed analysis of the current patenting practise, of the EU Directive Proposal, of related literature and of numerous example patents and patent applications as well as extensive discussions with proponents and opponents of software patentability, we have worked out a position paper on software patents, which includes a series of demands.

    Statement on Software Patents

    1. Software Patents do not provide any incentives for innovation (does anyone know a single entrepreneur who might ever have said that he would invest more in software development if only he could obtain patents for his software more easily?).
    2. Software patents are often used to "protect" trivial details or basic ideas (often simple combinations of prior knowledge), whose publication certainly does not benefit the public (the patent monopoly is supposedly granted in return for some benefit to the public, such as a disclosure of valuable knowledge )
    3. The current patenting practise of the EPO has produced a "large number of questionable [software] patents" (GI president Prof. Dr. Mayr).
    4. Issuing an EU directive which legitimates the granting of software patents without seriously addressing the problems of the current patenting practise only leads to the proliferation of questionable software patents.
    5. The technicity concept of much of the current patenting case law (software ideas are patentable if they can be claimed to be "technical") is vague enough to allow almost anything to be patented -- a patent attorney who is unable to draw up some "technical considerations" and base his claims thereon would hardly be worth his lawyer fees.

      The EU directive proposal's technicity concept does little more than to define software per se as technical and therefore patentable.
    6. If practically any software can be patented, then any business process or algorithm can also be patented, if only the patent applicant is careful to claim it in software terms. Any possibly remaining shades of a possibly intended limits on patentability would be eroded in the course of application of this directive. Just look at what happened to Art 52 EPC and the concept of technical invention during the last 15 years! Case law development has a formidable power of eroding any limits on patentability, even when they are worded in much clearer terms.
    7. Software patents granted on the basis of the current EPO practise and of the EU Directive Proposal lead to far-reaching monopolies in fundamental areas of current and future software application. These monopolies prevent competition and innovation and can destroy some of the best software companies.
    8. The only survival strategy consists in accumulating patents in order to build up a counter-strike potential. In case of success, this is a money-burning nul-sum game. Otherwise it is expensive and deadly for the loser. (Is there already a patent game somewhere? Is the concept for such a game perhaps still available for patenting?)
    9. The software patenting practise of the USA is continuing to be a cause for much discontent and criticism in the USA, and there is no reason for Europe to align its laws with that kind of practise. On the contrary, it would be advisable for Europeans to spend their time on unhindered innovation while unfortunate US competitors have to spend their time and money on patent litigation. Any European who wants or needs to apply for software patents in the US is free to do so.

      If the EU would only invest a fraction of the large sums of money, that its far-reaching software patentability plans are bound to consume, into making it more convenient to apply for US patents, then it would have done more for European competitiveness than by this directive.

    The above arguments do not contain words such as "small and medium enterprises", because they are independent of company size. Large companies often act as promoters of software patentability because either they believe that they can win the patent game (see item 8 above) or because their patent departments are acting on their own and confusing the company's interests with the patent department's interests.

    In order to camouflage these motives, some standard arguments have been built up. Within these arguments, the concept of "technicity" plays a central role. Patents have always and will always be granted for "technical" inventions, it is said. This then leads into endless abstract discussions about textual analysis of laws and court decisions.

    Therefore we demand that

    1. further discussions of patentability are based on examples (patents, patent applications) and the meaning of terms such as "technical" is defined in light of these examples.
    2. more practitioners of software development are invited to participate in the discussion
    3. the proponents of software patents are measured according to the patenting practise of their companies. Some companies apply for patents on business methods and algorithms and at the same time go around asking people to support the EPO or the EU commission's directive project as a means of preventing patents on business methods and algorithms. Such companies are evidently trying to fool the public in order to gain an advantageous position for themselves in the patent game according to the above-stated item 8.
    4. return to the classical concept of technical invention: a technical invention is, in the words of all German patent law textbooks, a

        teaching for planned action by use of controllable forces of nature for directly achieving a causally overseeable success.

      The "controllable forces of nature" must be at the core of the problem solution in return for which a patent monopoly is desired. Technology/engineering is understood as the harnessing of the material world (as opposed to the mental/ideal/conceptual world).

      In such a context, programmed processes are patentable and in such a context they should remain patentable. If an anti-blocking system (ABS) is based on new insights into physical causalities, it should be patentable independently of whether a computer program is used as a means of implementation. But the program itself, including its execution on a general-purpose computer for simulation purposes etc, should not be covered by the patent.

Plea for a Clear Concept of Technical Inventions (PDF, 236 KB)

    Transparencies (translated) for a lecture given at a meeting of the working group "Communication in Industrial Automation" of the German electrical and electronic manufacturers' association ZVEI on 2002-06-05.



Please send any suggestions, comments and critical remarks about www.esr-pollmeier.de/swpat/... to Stefan Pollmeier.


ESR. The Dynamic Solution
All pages © 2000–2002 ESR Pollmeier GmbH [Imprint]
zu den deutschen Seiten to the English pages

ESR Pollmeier
Software-Patente

Einführung - Beispiele - Heute angemeldet, morgen Patent? - Statement

Diese Seite enthält Links, die auf Angebote außerhalb unserer Website www.esr-pollmeier.de/... verweisen. Die ESR Pollmeier GmbH und ihre Autoren sind für Inhalte außerhalb der Website www.esr-pollmeier.de/... nicht verantwortlich, auch wenn von hier per Link darauf verwiesen wird. Inhalte außerhalb der Website www.esr-pollmeier.de/... geben nicht unbedingt die Meinung der ESR Pollmeier GmbH wieder, auch wenn von hier per Link darauf verwiesen wird. Dokumente und Zitate auf der Website www.esr-pollmeier.de/..., die nicht von der ESR Pollmeier GmbH stammen, geben nicht unbedingt die Meinung der ESR Pollmeier GmbH wieder. Anregungen, Kommentare, Kritik zu www.esr-pollmeier.de/swpat/... bitte an Stefan Pollmeier.


Nach ausführlicher Analyse der derzeitigen Patentierungspraxis, des EU-Richtlinien-Vorschlags, der Literatur, vieler Beispiel-Patente und -Patent-Anmeldungen, nach ausführlichen Diskussionen mit Befürwortern und Gegnern der Software-Patentierung haben wir das folgende Statement und die daraus resultierenden Forderungen erarbeitet.

    Statement zu Software-Patenten

    1. Software-Patente bieten keine Innovations-Anreize (kennt jemand auch nur einen Unternehmer, der gesagt hätte, er würde mehr in Software-Entwicklung investieren, wenn er die Software denn nur patentieren könne?).
    2. Software-Patente werden oft zum "Schutz" trivialer Details oder sehr allgemein gehaltener Ideen eingesetzt (oft einfache Kombination vorhandenen Wissens); die Veröffentlichung leistet damit keinen Beitrag zum Gemeinwohl (Patente stellen ja bekanntlich ein Monopol dar, das dadurch gerechtfertigt wird, daß die Veröffentlichung einen Beitrag zum Gemeinwohl leistet).
    3. Die gegenwärtige Patentierungs-Praxis des EPA hat zu einer "Vielzahl zweifelhafter [Software-]Patente" geführt (so z. B. GI-Präsident Prof. Dr. Mayr).
    4. Eine EU-Richtlinie für Software-Patente zu erlassen, die es erlaubt, noch mehr Software-Patente zu erteilen, ohne daß die Probleme der jetzigen Patentierungs-Praxis ernsthaft angegangen werden, produziert letztlich zweifelhafte Software-Patente in Potenz.
    5. Der Technik-Begriff der gegenwärtigen Patentierungspraxis (eine Software-Erfindung muß "technisch" sein, damit sie patentiert werden kann) ist so degeneriert, daß notfalls alleine "technische Überlegungen" im Erfindungsprozeß ausreichen, um ein Patent erteilt zu bekommen (ein Patentanwalt, der bei Software keine "technischen Überlegungen" konstruieren kann, wäre sein Geld nicht wert).

      Der Technik-Begriff des EU-Richtlinienvorschlags reduziert sich im wesentlichen darauf, daß Software per se als technisch und damit patentierbar definiert wird.
    6. Wenn praktisch jede Software patentiert werden kann, dann kann auch jede Geschäftsmethode oder jeder Algorithmus patentiert werden, wenn die Patentanmeldung sie mit etwas Software garniert. Evtl. noch vorhandene minimale Schranken gegen die Patentierung von Geschäftsmethoden oder Algorithmen werden im Verlauf der praktischen Anwendung der EU-Richtlinie fallen, das lehrt die Aushöhlung des Technik-Begriffs bis auf eine Worthülse in den letzten 10 Jahren.
    7. Software-Patente auf Basis der gegenwärtigen Patentierungspraxis und des EU-Richtlinienentwurfs führen zu weitreichenden Monopolen in nicht umgehbaren Schlüsselfeldern aktueller und kommender Software-Anwendung. Diese Monopole verhindern Wettbewerb und Innovation und können andere Software-Anbieter zerstören.
    8. Einzige mögliche Gegenmaßnahme ist fleißiges Patentieren, um Patente als Verhandlungsmasse aufzubauen, für den Fall das man von einem Wettbewerber angegriffen wird. Im ausgeglichenen Fall ein Nullsummenspiel mit Geldvernichtung, ansonsten teuer oder tödlich für den Unterlegenen. (Gibt es im Handel schon ein Patent-Portfolio-Spiel und wo könnte ich mir die Idee ggf. schützen lassen?)
    9. Die (inzwischen auch in den USA selbst beklagte) Situation bei Software-Patenten in den USA zwingt Europa unter keinem Gesichtspunkt, sein Patentrecht den USA anzunähern. Naheliegend wäre doch, hier in Europa unbehindert von Software-Patenten innovativ tätig zu sein, während die US-Amerikaner in Verhandlungszimmern oder in Gerichtssälen sitzen. Wenn man will (oder muß) kann man Patente in den USA anmelden.

      Würde die EU nur einen Bruchteil der Gelder, die im Gefolge einer weitreichenden Software-Patentierung in Europa verbraten würden, in die Förderung von US-Patentanmeldungen investieren, dann hätte sie mehr für die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Europäer in USA getan als durch die EU-Richtlinie.

    Diese Argumente enthalten das Wort "Mittelstand" oder "KMU" nicht, weil sie unabhängig von Mittelstand gelten. Großunternehmen sind u. E. oft deshalb für Software-Patente, weil Sie glauben, das Spiel (Ziffer 8 oben) gewinnen zu können und/oder weil sich deren Patentabteilungen verselbständigt haben und dem Unternehmen die Richtung vorgeben (statt umgekehrt). Da entsprechende Unternehmen meist nicht zugeben wollen, daß sie Patent-Portfolio-Spiele spielen wollen, wurden die hinreichend bekannten Argumentationen aufgebaut.

    Eine Schlüsselrolle in der Argumentation der Software-Patent-Befürworter spielt der Technik-Begriff. Immer wieder wird Kritikern vorgehalten, daß Software-Patente jetzt und künftig nur für "technische" Erfindungen erteilt werden. Darauf folgt meist eine abstrakte, endlos-ermüdende und ergebnislose Diskussion über die Auslegung des Technik-Begriffs.

    Deshalb fordern wir

    1. weitere Diskussionen anhand von Beispielen (Patenten, Patentanmeldungen) zu führen und dort insbesondere die Technizität zu betrachten
    2. bei den Diskussionen mehr Personen aus der Softwareentwicklungs-Praxis einzubeziehen
    3. die Befürworter von Software-Patenten an der Patentpraxis und Patentanmeldepraxis ihrer Unternehmen zu messen: Wer in Europa Patentanmeldungen auf Geschäftsmethoden und Algorithmen einreicht und parallel behauptet, der Technik-Begriff der Patentierungspraxis oder der EU-Richtlinie verhindere Patente auf Geschäftsmethoden und Algorithmen, der spielt grob falsch um sich Vorteile für das Spiel nach Ziffer 8 zu verschaffen.
    4. zurück zum klassischen Technik-Begriff einer Erfindung als

        "einer Lehre zum planmäßigen Handeln unter Einsatz beherrschbarer Naturkräfte zur Erreichung eines kausal übersehbaren Erfolges"

      Die "Naturkräfte" (physikalisch, chemisch, biologisch ...) sind hier der Knackpunkt, der Begriff des Technischen muß eindeutig durch seine Beziehung zur Welt der Materie (im Gegensatz zur Welt des Geistes) definiert werden.

      In einem solchen Kontext ist Software patentierbar und in einem solchen Kontext soll sie es auch bleiben (Beispiel Antiblockier- System ABS: wenn eine ABS-Erfindung etwas neues über Kausalzusammenhänge beherrschbarer Naturkräfte lehrt, dann ist sie auch dann patentierbar, wenn bei ihrer Ausfuehrung ein Datenverarbeitungsprogramm eingesetzt wird.)

Plädoyer für die Anwendung eines klaren Technik-Begriffs (PDF, 245 KB)

    Folien zu einem Vortrag beim ZVEI GA Kommunikation in der Automatisierungstechnik am 05.06.02


Zur Beachtung: Die in diesem Text verwendeten Soft- und Hardware-Bezeichnungen, Firmen- und Markennamen können warenzeichen-, marken- oder patentrechtlichem Schutz unterliegen.

Anregungen, Kommentare, Kritik zu www.esr-pollmeier.de/swpat/... an Stefan Pollmeier.


ESR. The Dynamic Solution
Alle Seiten © 2000–2002 ESR Pollmeier GmbH [Impressum]
zu den deutschen Seiten to the English pages